Posted by: Chelsea Novak | February 26, 2003

Today’s Game

It’s a question people ask in magazines and in “man on the street interviews”…What’s in your purse?. It’s supposed to be a shallow window to the soul and I figured what with all the quiz taking an introspection as of late I’d add this to the fray. Do it yourself, make a list (an honest list) of what’s in your purse, briefcase or *shudder* pockets and ask yourself why you carry what you do. I’m sorry to say that I don’t carry a towel with me wherever I go, but I do think that my clie could pass for a Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy.

To preface, I have 3 jobs, am often on the run, sometimes having to interview people or meet with people and not getting home until late. So I have to be prepared. Oh, and I’m anal too. Also, I didn’t used to be one of those women who always had a pen on them. One day, on a whim, I put on in my purse and that was the very day M asked me to lend him a pen as I “seemed like the type of girl who’d always have a pen on them.” I’m convinced it added to my appeal and have become one of those girls who always has a pen on them.

Anyway, my purse today, and most work days is a black leather over the shoulder bag with a taupe plaid lining (my mom gave it to me, she rocks) and many wonderful compartments. I adore it. Contrary to what it’s holding it’s not so huge and heavy… though it may explain why my neck and shoulders are such a mess.

Front pocket: Matching purple pen and pencil, black Sharpie, Sky blue Nokia 3310 Mobile phone, silver business card holder with (*gasp*) business cards, matches from The Museum of Communism, tiny Mag-lite on a string, half a pack of Trident Raspberry Twist gum, Sony ECM-DS70P stereo microphone, halogen light key chain with office key on it and house keys on cheesy heart keychain.

Front pocket 2: City map of Prague, Sony PEG-T665C Clie, passport.

Inner purse section 1: Prada wallet (black), Sony Net Mini Disc Walkman/Recorder MZ-N707 (in carrying case) and MDR-G72 wrap-around headphones (both sliver) and 8 mixed mini-discs.

Inner purse section 2: Tales from the Perilous Realm by J.R.R. Tolkien and a clear blue polyfile A5 envelope (containing: the Spusa winter movie night schedule, 3 Massive Attack 100th window promo postcards, a letter I have to mail for M, an A6 lined notepad, the reciept for the massage I had today and a blank withdrawl slip).

Inner purse section 3: A Sterile Epinephrine Auto-Injector, a purse sized wooden hair-brush, Dove Protective Care Hand Balm (you SO wanted me to write blam, didn’t you), black sunglasses in black leather glasses case and a pink Clinique make-up bag (contents: MAC Studio Fix NC20, MAC concealer N1, Chanel eyeliner in brun with sharpener, small tube of Clinique Dramatically Different moisturizing lotion, Labello rose lip BLAM, Nivea Deo Compact (the MOST useful thing to have in your purse, esp. in the summer), Body shop lip gloss in Nemo, Clinique soft-pressed powder blusher in Warm Rasin, Naturisitcs sweet-lips lip gloss in Raspberry, Lancome Miracle perfume stick, Clinique Long-pretty lashes in black, ahem… tampons, toothpicks, daytime cold medication, allergy pills and one precious anti-anxiety pill.)

Inner purse pocket: Extra battery holder, Aveda brilliant lip shine and L’Occitane lip BLAM in Wild Rose.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

