Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 25, 2003

A running soundtrack

I know, it’s totally self-serving and indulgent, but it just started coming together. I was taking a break at work after reading an email from Wendy where she said that she would make a sountrack of her life and send me a copy. And I got thinking about what might go on mine. I started writing down songs. Songs that I’ve cared for all my life, songs that came to represent major moments in my life, and maybe songs that could have served as a soundtrack to my life so far. I’ve written three pages of songs so far. 26 years is going to have to be a boxed set.

The challenge is criteria. There have been many songs that I have passionately adored for a week or two and then the magic has worn off almost as quickly as it came on. I guess this is part of what many people do when they look back on their lives. They try to find something meaningful, something worth remembering, and hopefully they see that they had moments of substance and not a string of flights of fancy.

Here is the first draft of my 26 soundtrack. It’s been a real John Cusack in High Feidelity experience trying to pick the right songs (“Listen, why don’t I just make you a tape.”). Like Rob Gordon, I’m trying to organize them autobiographically. These aren’t all my favourite songs, but they’re songs that have been there through good and bad, provided comfort or fodder for rage.

Eye in the sky – Alan Parsons Project

Xanadu – Oliva Newton John

Rich Girl – Hall & Oates

Material Girl – Madonna

Freedom – Wham

People are people – Depeche Mode

Every breath you take – The Police

Rhapsody in blue – George Gershwin

Allentown – Billy Joel

Covergirl – New Kids On The Block (the SHAME!)

Fight the power – Public Enemy

Wave of mutilation (UK surf) – The Pixies

Everybody knows – Concrete Blonde

Ultraviolet – U2

Express yourself – Madonna

Lies – EMF

World in my eyes – Depeche Mode

Audrey’s Dance (from Twin Peaks) – Angelo Badalamenti

Something good – Utah Saints

Symphony No. 1 – Johannes Brahms

Misty mountain hop – Led Zepplin

Across the universe – The Beatles

Closer, Reptile and I do not want this (from The Downward Spiral) – Nine Inch Nails

This woman’s work – Kate Bush

Good enough – Sarah McLaughlin

Girlfriend – Matthew Sweet

Queer – Garbage

Protection – Massive Attack

Symphony No. 5 – Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky

Pride (in the name of love) – U2

Just – Radiohead

Down in a hole – Alice In Chains

When you gonna learn – Jamiroquai

Far away (so close) – U2

Finale from “The Empire Strikes Back” – John Williams

Don’t Speak – No Doubt

Milk – Garbage

Sheherazade – Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov

Exit music from a film – Radiohead

6 Underground – Sneaker Pimps

Leather – Tori Amos

Teardrop – Massive Attack

Gorecki – Lamb

Vltava (from Ma Vlast) – Bedrich Smentana

Canned Heat – Jamiroquai

Unintended – Muse

Promeny – Cechomor

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

