Posted by: Chelsea Novak | November 19, 2002

My love affair with lunch

Each weeknight as I fall asleep I think about. After I’ve eaten my breakfast and on my way to work, I think about it. I look at the clock and I see that it’s almost 11:30, meaning only a half hour until it’s appropriate for me to go out and get it, and my tummy does flip-flops in anticipation. What is it that has me in such a tizzy? Lunch. And not just some tuna sandwhich I pick up at Paneria (which are, to be fair, quite excellent). I’m in love with a salad.

Every day that I am afford it (which, I confess, I contrive to do each day) I head down the street to the Break cafe. The wait staff all know me and as I’m sitting down they ask me if I’d like a mineral water or a tea (depending upon the weather) and order my salad. The sweet farmer salad. What does this beauty have in it that makes me giddy just thinking about it? It starts with mixed greens, a healthy helping of them. On top of that, they put pan fried bacon cut into small pieces, croutons and shaved parmesan cheese. Dress it with some olive oil and balsalmic vinegar, and you have one of the highlights of my day.

While I make my way through my salad, I read. I bring whatever book I’m reading at the time (currently The Name of the Rose) and have a 30 minute reprieve from work and the rest of the world. Being able to repeat moments like this most days of the week makes it so clear to me why I am such a creature of habit.

Yay… only 25 minutes to lunch.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

