Posted by: Chelsea Novak | October 8, 2002

Confessions a la Dooce

Oh the shame. Bask in it’s glow.

-The first concert I ever saw was Whitney Houston.

-I used to drive a brown station wagon with fake wood paneling, which I covered in surfing stickers. I’ve never surfed. Though I did love when the snowboarder guys would come into class and talk about the guy who must be so cool because of his surf wagon.

-My father bought me personalized license plates that said THE FUR (it all goes back to a bad perm), tragically I’m from Ontario where I license plates say “Yours to discover.” I still plan on using them when I get my next car in Canada.

-I have seen the New Kids on the Block in concert and I screamed my 12-year-old heart out at Donnie’s pelvic thrusting, though I had NO idea what it all meant.

-I loved the ballet movie Center Stage

-I used to own all the early Mariah Carey cassette singles.

-When I was a little girl I used to pretend that I had more middle names than I did.

-I once sang along to Salt n’ Peppa’s “Shoop” whist dancing with a wide receiver from the University of South Carolina. He said I could flow for a white girl.

-I thought that Captain Power and Jem were the best things on TV for an embarrassingly long amount of time.

-Further proving my penchant for rap, I lip synched Sir-Mix-A-Lot’s “Baby Got Back” in front of my ENTIRE highschool at a pep rally at the behest of the rest of the basketball team… It hurts us.

-When I was still dancing, I once danced in the Grade 8 talent show to the theme from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Technotronic and actually managed to kick my slipper off of my foot. Consequently I lost the competition to a bunch of guys who lip synched to Slaughter’s “Up all night.” They had lighting effects.

-I still think that Whitney Houston’s “I’m Your Baby Tonight” is a great song.

-I was once handcuffed to the flag pole at Albert College.

-I adore watching awards shows.

-I have been rejected by some total losers and trampled the hearts of some really sweet boys.

-I could perform a one-woman show of the following musicals The Sound of Music, Moulin Rouge, Xanadu, Grease 2 and The Pirate Movie

-I once dressed up as Sailor Mars from Sailor Moon for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

Categories

