Posted by: Chelsea Novak | October 3, 2002

100 Things

One of the many blogs that M reads is the blog of this fellow, Ernie. While it’s not on my

list of daily sites to see, Ernie did something the other day that inspired me. This person has started (and finished) a project trying to get 100 people to post 100 things about themselves on their blog within 100 days. This 100 person goal was achieved in 10 days.

While we were at Wendy’s farewell party, Kari commented that she did know if she’s be able to do that. Write 100 things about herslef. I confidently said that 100 things would be no problem. Mostly because I’m pretty self-absorbed (self-assured as Kari says). So it’s time to put my money where my mouth is.

100 things about me

1.   I was born in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.

2.   I have brown hair and brown eyes.

3.   My ancestry is about 3 parts Scottish and 1 part German.

4.   One of my nicknames in highschool was Casper. (guess why)

5.   I have lived in the Czech Republic for more than 2 years.

6.   I speak English well, Czech barely, French lazily and can only read easy German.

7.   I went to Queen’s University.

8.   I played varsity Basketball for 4 years of highschool. I was in the starting line up for 1 of those years.

9.   I started playing the piano when I was 3 years old.

10. I generally only enjoy books if they’re about aliens, wizards, Templars or philosophy.

11. I studied film and art history at University.

12. I learned most of the skills I use in my present job from the student newspaper I was invovled in.

13. I have a grey cat named Zeus.

14. I worked in a record store for 5 years.

15. I loved music more before I started working at the store than when I left.

16. I started playing the double bass when I was 11 years old.

17. My double bass was made in Czechoslovakia, but didn’t make the trip back when I moved to Prague.

18. I’m learning how to knit.

19. My favourite colours are blue, black, green and red.

20. I can’t run or play any high impact sports as I messed up my knee by playing high impact sports and running while I was growing.

21. When I was growing up I wanted to be a dancer, a singer, a figher pilot, a marine biologist, a psychologist or a hair stylist.

22. My favourite movie is The Empire Strikes Back.

23. I am an athiest.

24. I sleep with a stuffed animal that my parents bought for me just before I was born. It’s a puppet bunny named Bundy.

25. I used to ride horses, but gave it up after being thrown from a horse named Joker.

26. I have a sister who is 5 and 1/2 years older than I am and almost 10 inches shorter.

27. I am strong in mind and body.

28. I often read and write the insides of words backwards. I’ve always called it dyslexia, but I’m pretty sure that dyslexia is more complicated than that.

29. I am allergic to peanuts.

30. I am an idealist.

31. My favourite foods are sushi, ceasar salad and salt and vinegar chips. Not all together of course.

32. Yesterday, a man on the tram looked at me like I was beautiful.

33. I spend too much of my time being angry.

34. I don’t spend a lot of my time grounded in reality.

35. I am in love.

36. I bought a bicycle last week.

37. I grew up in a house on the lake.

38. I sleep the most deeply when I can hear water moving.

39. I am not afraid of the dark.

40. I want to see fireflies again before I die.

41. I am very picky about what I eat.

42. I am a creature of habit.

43. I am afraid of dying.

44. I am afraid that when I die, no one will know who I was.

45. I adore beauty products.

46. I love being under water.

47. I have hurt people’s feelings. Usually not intentionally.

48. I hate wearing socks, though I understand the necessity.

49. I think cows are funny.

50. I can be a jealous person.

51. I am obessed with the notion that I might smell bad.

52. I one of my favourite pieces of classical music is the Herberdies Overture by Mendelson. (None of that is spelt correctly)

53. My mother used to make me wear the colour red all the time. I rebelled against it as soon as I could, but now, about 14 years later, I’ve come to embrace it and maybe recognize that it is a really good colour on me.

54. When I’m home alone, I dance.

55. I love playing card games.

56. My favourite season is fall.

57. I almost got a tan this summer.

58. I’m learning how to belly dance.

59. I think it would be gratifying to lash out and hit something.

60. I love my blog.

61. I’ve kept a diary or journal in some form for the last 15 years.

62. My sister says I have the handwriting of a serial killer. I think it’s rather pretty.

63. I love Christmas carols.

64. I am not gifted with languages. Life would be easier if I was.

65. I do not suffer fools gladly.

66. I love reading, though I tend to read the same books over and over again. I don’t enjoy most of the books out there today.

67. I think I’m pretty strange.

68. But I like that.

69. I can list all 50 US states in less than 5 minutes.

70. I am Canadian.

71. People often confide in me and ask me for advice.

72. I hope I’m helpful.

73. I have tried many expensive hair products, but my hair looks and behaves best when I use Pantene. It’s a blow to my premium beauty product snobbery.

74. I have a very strong sense of smell.

75. I don’t plan on having children.

76. My favourite musical artists include Massive Attack, Tori Amos, Muse, Nine Inch Nails and The Sneaker Pimps.

77. I am inspired by great deeds.

78. Noise makes me very tense.

79. I’m not interested in drugs and I think I’m an asshole when I’m drunk.

80. I have problems trusting people.

81. I think my father is brilliant.

82. I have a pretty amazing life.

83. I used to think that I wouldn’t live to turn 24.

84. I look prettiest when I’m laughing.

85. I’ve tried to grow my hair really long so that I could, just once, dress up like Princess Leia. I don’t believe in doing a half assed effort with the

costume, but my hair is really heavy, so I usually give up.

86. I am stubborn.

87. I tend to be very hard on people that get in my way. I need to learn to be better about that.

88. I cried last night because I realized that I don’t know when the super-girls will meet up again.

89. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

90. I want to get married someday.

91.  My favourite TV shows are Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Enterprise, The West Wing and Angel.

92. I love watching TV with M. Czech or otherwise.

93. I make the bed every morning.

94. I am an obsessive organizer. I think it’s part of my fear of death.

95. My mother knows exacly how I work and knows exactly how to handle me.

96. My life has become better as I have gotten older.

97. My favourite books are Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien, Foccualts Pendulum by Umberto Eco and The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

98. I believe that there are answers to everything.

99. I am beginning to accept that I will never be a mathematical genius of any sort.

100. I think I’m funny and usually on purpose.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

