Posted by: Chelsea Novak | September 20, 2002

Kudos are in order

My former roommate Adrienne is engaged! You go girl. This means that every girl I’ve shared a room with is married or altar bound (of course there are only 2 of them, so it’s not like a huge statistical feat) While I’ve never seen her with her husband-to-be, I can happily say that I was there when they first met. Wendy will approve of this union as they met over a Beastie Boys song. Way back in 1996 or 1997, we were at Ritual at Clark Hall Pub. While we were getting wacky off purple juice, Adrienne decided that she needed to hear some Beastie Boys.

Let me digress for a moment. Adrienne is one of the coolest people I’ve ever met. I’ve never known her to be anything but herself, she’s brilliant with numbers and languages (people say that I’m good with organizing things, but this girl is like my Jedi Master), she danced ballet but was one of the biggest Beastie Boys fans I’ve ever met. She gets this glint in her eyes when she’s listening to them or “singing” along, which is cool because the excitement in her eyes contrasts to well with her chilled demeanor. She also laughs at all my jokes, which makes me think highly of her regardless. She’s one of those friends who I can not see for a couple of years and when we get together it’s like no time has passed. We also shared the bond of generally having guys for friends, so we would indulge in girly-ness sans typical women crap. It was cool.

Back to the story… Age (as she is known to most) requests (I think) The Sounds Of Science from Paul’s Boutique. A lesser known song, but dude, it’s good. Age comes back to the table reporting that the DJ seemed enthusiastic about the song, so odds were high we were going to see it. Several songs pass and the DJ says something to the effect of “I just want to tell the girl who requested this song that this is THE COOLEST request I’ve ever had.” Age beamed with pride.

Years pass, relationships come and go, and one night Age meets this guy at a club, there’s a connection and after getting together a couple of times the start dating. And then it comes out… Ian is the DJ who played that song. I do hope they play it at the wedding. Leave it to Age to find her man doing something cool. She’s like that.

Tomorrow is her birthday (she’s a whole 3 days older than I am), so Happy Birthday Age! And enjoy planning your wedding. Well all know it’s going to be great… and cool.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

