Posted by: Chelsea Novak | September 5, 2002

Whump!

Dude, I am tired. And there’s nothing that makes you feel more tired than realizing that your only real chance a rest is months upon months away. Okay, maybe there will be a restful weekend retreat to the Sumava mountains somewhere in there. But this tired is only going to get worse. And you know what, I’m going to vent about it for a moment.

My boss had her first child today. At 3 a.m. she was born and dude, that’s cool. But what’s less cool is that there’s no replacement for her. So my collegue and I are doing the work of 3 with 2. Which I think we could have done pretty easily before all this flood fund business started. Now I’m feeling just a little overwhelmed. And there are going to be 2 fundraisers this fall, and I’ve already had one sleepless night about the one coming in October. Irena and I are working our butts off. And that’s tiring. Fufilling, yes, but tiring. It would be less so if this were my only job, but it’s one of 3. And I really should stop teaching, but I’m actually considering taking on more classes to make more money. I want a vacation by the sea next year and those don’t come so cheap.

Maybe it’s a product of the fall air. This was always the time of year when I was crazy busy at school after a month or so of working. Maybe I feel like I slacker if less than one moment of my day isn’t devoted to productivity. Of course that’s never the way it is, but my sily brain always invisions it like that. I always feel like I need to do more. Work more, learn more, clean more. That’s why I actually need a vaction out of the city. Where I can’t do any of that. Weekends aren’t restful for me. I spend them cleaning and shopping, even if I don’t have to. Granted there’s some great dinners and movies in there too.

I’ve lost my perspective on things today. I’m just too tired, so everything is really blown out of proportion. I’m going to go home and take a nap… naps are good.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

