Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 22, 2002

Sonnets

I’ve never been a big fan of Shakespeare. I like the comedys and love Macbeth like a good Scottish girl should, but I’m not a fan of much else. I went to lunch today and decided that I needed something to read as I waited for my farmer’s salad (very yum). So I borrowed a book from M. A little book of Shakespear’s sonnets. Sure that I wouldn’t like it, as it has no wizards or aliens, I took it just to see if I could make sense of it at all.

Well, I was able to make a little sense of it. He seems like a really bitter guy who doesn’t like it when women get old, or when they’re too young and lovely. Pretty jaded it seems. I did, however, find one that was rather touching and reflective of my life as I live far away from many loved ones. So I’ll write it here. I’m not sure what it’s called, but in this book it’s 44:

If the dull substance of my flesh were thought,

Injurious distance should not stop my way;

For then despite of space I would be brought,

From limits far remote, where thou dost stay.

No matter then although my foot did stand,

Upon the farthest earth removed from thee;

For nimble thought kills me that I am not thought,

As soon as think the place where he would be.

But ah, thought kills me that I am not thought,

To leap large lengths of miles when thou art gone,

But that, so much of earth and water wrought,

I must attend time’s leisure with my moan;

Receiving naught by elements so slow

But heavy tears, badges of either’s woe.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

