Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 10, 2002

Grey and the like

While I’ve never lived in Vancouver or Toronto, I think it’s safe to say that Prague takes the belt and sassily bitch slaps the other competitors. I don’t mean to belittle the greyness of Toronto, which I’m sure is amplified by how grumpy everyone is there; or the unending rain that beats down upon Vancover making everyone just a notch or two off normal and everything very green. You see, there are two saving graces for Toronto and Vancouver. Toronto has the very lovely Lake Ontario. Never underestimate the power of water, you’ll never understand it until you’re missing it. Vancouver has so much green and so many mountains, and the pacific ocean! Sure, the sun would make it perfect, but really, not such a hard done by city.

Now I don’t want to go off on Prague. I love Prague. Have lived there happily for 2 years, but the winters are tough. The sun sets way earlier that it did in Canada, no lake, no ocean… a river, yes. Rain, slush, cold. communist era architecture and not a Tim Horton’s in sight. Of course, I prefer cloudy days to sunny ones, and I find rainy days romantic (when I’m inside…) so really, I’m right at home. The sun still sets wayyyyy too early.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

