Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 26, 2002

Strengths & Weaknesses

If you have look at Mike’s blog today you’ll see why I’m breaking out in a Math rash. He’s figuring out his optimal mortgage rate, which is a really noble pursiut, but invovles a great deal of algebra. Something I don’t know. I hate saying that, but it’s true. I’m a math retard. There’s no reason why I should be, but I am. I hated it so much in highschool. It was like pulling teeth. I remember my Finite teacher asking me what my grades were in other classes, suggesting that maybe I wasn’t cut out for the advance stream. He could only shake his head when I showed him my transcript full of A’s in most every subject except for Math and Physics.

Thinking of highschool academics gives me the stomach flip flops. My friends at the time were all totally psycho about grades. It was all that mattered and they were nasty about it. Like rude. One should never feel ashamed of their intelliegence and without a doubt be proud of how much they know and the skills that they have. But using said possession of brains and skills as a weapon to cover up for social insecurities seems to be a contradicition of having brains. It’s a sore spot for me.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

