Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 24, 2002

It’s raining, it’s pouring

So today, I’m wearing pants. Not something to alert the media about, but it does mean that the temperature has dropped enough for me to be able to do this. The sky is cloudy and grey. I woke up to the sound of rain drops and was just so happy. It’s a pleasant 20 degrees today. Something I can deal with.

Looking at the news today, it seems to be a good thing that I’m not back in Canada today. There’s a G8 meeting going on in Alberta, and of course there are anti-globalization protesters taking our their anger at their parents on elected officials. No, I’m not going to go on a rant about this movement. I’m sure I’ll have lots to say about it in Novemeber when the NATO summit hits Prague. I just had such a good weekend, where I was able to confirm many of my convictions and then seeing this as the frist thing on the news was a bit of a bummer.

In other news, my gracious best friend Mike, who has forgiven me for wishing him a happy birthday 2 days late, has just bought property for the first time. Pretty grown up. It’s something I’d love to do someday, but it seems far far off in the distant future. He got a condo in Toronto, which looks like a pretty sweet deal. I’m proud of him. He’s all growed up now. Which means that M may have one of those “we have no assets” days. I think we’re doing very well on our own terms. Houses and mortgages will come. I’m still impressed when I have a surplus at the end of the month after paying all the bills and contributing to my savings. (won’t have one this month…boo). I’m easily impressed and I’m still trying to settle into this adult thing. Mike has embraced the financial responsibilties of adulthood very well. And I’m totally impressed by it, but I just still see myself in this limbo. An adult in most ways, but still shocked when I do adult things.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

